Webcasts

Administration and Leadership

August 4, 2020 at 1:00 PM EDT / 12:00 PM CDT / 10:00 AM PDT / 5:00 PM GMT

This program is for all EMS leaders and EMS members interested in improving their communication skills to connect with their membership. This dynamic presentation covers the power and pitfalls of effective EMS officer management and leadership skills and provides actual scenarios to enhance the subject matter. Attendees apply what they have learned in an interactive exploration of the commonalities and differences between management and leadership ideals. This webcast is a must for members interested in moving up in the EMS ranks.

Administration and Leadership

July 30, 2020 at 1:00 PM EDT / 12:00 PM CDT / 10:00 AM PDT / 5:00 PM GMT

The flaws in the current emergency medical system design are coming to light in the wake of COVID-19. The EMS system in the U.S. has fallen behind other countries on many quality indicators. Paramedicine clinicians remain very poorly paid, and the U.S. paramedicine system remains isolated and underfunded.

Dr. Maguire, and others, are proposing a new paramedicine system in the U.S., and urges all EMS professionals to call on federal, state and local representatives to immediately invest in the EMS system in order to care for current COVID-19 victims, to prepare for the next wave of this pandemic and to create the 21st century paramedicine system in the U.S.

Administration and Leadership

July 9, 2020 at 1:00 PM EDT / 12:00 PM CDT / 10:00 AM PDT / 5:00 PM GMT

During this time of crisis, we have seen innovation happen very quickly. We should carry this into our culture going forward. The operational impact on crew and patient safety as well as staffing and resource management was not staggering. Our EMS team members demonstrated incredible ingenuity, dedication, humanity and courage, and our management team learned how to make innovation happen very quickly. By successfully scheduling and revising crew schedules on an ongoing basis to manage 911 response, hospital decompression and patient-to-resource load balancing efforts at the epicenter in Queens NY, we were able to save thousands of lives through amazing teamwork.

Watch Now!

First responders at the federal, state and local levels are on the front lines providing service, protection, and support to their communities during the COVID-19 pandemic. To assist first responders in conducting activities as safely and efficiently as possible, Greg Olson, Sr. Global Product Specialist for Industrial Hygiene and Respiratory Protection at TSI and Bobby Holton, Editor in Chief at Fire Engineering, will discuss respiratory protection and respirator fit testing.

Coronavirus

This event was originally broadcast on May 12, 2020 and is now available for on-demand viewing.

We have seen fire, rain, and flooding. We hone our response based on years of records and new technologies. But, fire and rain have predictive values. Not so a catastrophic biologic event. We have developed vaccines for some of the most infectious agents, but each relies on voluntary compliance or mandated ring immunization without guaranty of jurisdictional adherence in a geopolitically isolated environment.

Operations

Now available for on demand viewing.

Why double down on a broken system that hasn’t worked for disasters, active shooter incidents, or large-scale events? In the largest pandemic of our lifetime, learn how clinical leaders in both Texas and Colorado are using mobile technology to not only manage the COVID-19 crisis, but also lay the foundation for the new reality of EMS, including Mobile Integrated Healthcare, Community Paramedicine, and Telehealth.

Community Paramedicine and Mobile Health

May 14, 2020 at 11:00 AM EDT / 10:00 AM CDT / 8:00 AM PDT / 3:00 PM GMT

This Webcast discusses new sepsis criteria along with expert commentary on how they can be applied in the field. Presented by Sepsis Alliance Sepsis Hero and EMS 10 award recipient Rommie Duckworth, this program includes realistic, practical methods for identifying, assessing, and treating life-threatening sepsis in the field and looks at the current state of sepsis critical care as well as what we can anticipate in the coming months and years.

Coronavirus

This event was recorded April 30, 2020 and is now available for on demand viewing.

This Webcast will review identifying unknown powders and substances and also provide an overview of COVID-19 PPE considerations and decon. This information can serve as the basis for a standard operating procedure for your department that covers size-up; PPE; and respiratory selection, decontamination, and identification.

Administration and Leadership

This event was originally broadcast on May 7, 2020 and is now available for on-demand viewing.

This Webcast is geared to illustrate key points in preparation, size-up, fireground decision making, and communications. Videos, case studies, fireground radio transmissions, and interactive fire simulations are used to present the challenges inherent in making rapid emergency decisions. Viewers are offered tools to help them perform a skillful size-up, communicate effectively, and project control over chaotic emergency incidents.

Operations

This event was originally broadcast on April 21, 2020 and is now available for on-demand viewing.

This Webcast combines the research and outreach initiatives of the UL Firefighter Safety Research Institute (FSRI) and presents curriculum relevant to strategic and tactical decision making and developing best practices for mounting an intelligent interior fire attack. The focus is on identifying the “real estate” between the so-called “aggressive” interior attack and “surround and drown.”