NAEMSP Announces 2015 Award Winners

The National Association of EMS Physicians (NAEMSP) congratulates its 2015 award winners. The following awards were presented at NAEMSP’s Annual Meeting, Specialty Workshops, Scientific Assembly and Trade Show held at the Hyatt Regency New Orleans in New Orleans, La. The awards were presented at a luncheon on Saturday afternoon, January 24, 2015.

Ronald D. Stewart Award — Robert O’Connor, MD
This award is given annually to a person who has made a lasting, major contribution to the national EMS community. Robert O’Connor has demonstrated leadership in this organization as well as the emergency health care community as a whole. As a former President of NAEMSP, he has represented our specialty and organization well. Most importantly, he has chosen to stay engaged and continues to be a major leader representing the interests of our patients. We are lucky that he continues to be engaged and provide leadership to our community.

Keith Neely Outstanding Contribution to EMS Award — Marcus Ong, MD, MPH and
Sang Do Shin, MD

This award is presented to an active or past member of NAEMSP who has provided significant leadership to the association. The award is named after the late Keith Neely, the first non-physician member at large to serve on the NAEMSP Board of Directors. NAEMSP has always hoped to inspire and lead in out-of-hospital emergency care throughout world. We hope to do that providing an environment for leadership development and hope that NAEMSP can serve as an incubator. The NAEMSP Asian Committee took those principles and ran with them. Asian EMS Council led meetings all over the world and is the force behind the Pan-Asian Resuscitation Outcomes Consortium. This year’s award winners were two leaders who were instrumental in leading this highly successful group that will now become The Asian EMS Association.

Friends of EMS Award — CARES
The Friends of EMS award is presented to an individual or organization that has been an advocate in furthering NAEMSP’s mission through influencing or implementing national public policy. This year’s recipient is recognized for dedication and efforts to NAEMSP and the EMS community. In many ways, Cardiac Arrest is the touchstone of our practice of EMS Medicine. We have seen a revolution of care. A key component of that revolution is outcomes data and our award recipient is leading the charge on making that data useful to EMS systems and policy planners alike.

No posts to display