Administration and Leadership, EMS Today, EMS Today Conference, Top Story

EMS10: Innovators in EMS Award Winners Announced at EMS Today 2019

The winners of this year’s EMS10: Innovators in EMS awards were announced by JEMS Editor-in-Chief A.J. Heightman on Wednesday morning, Feb. 20, at an exclusive breakfast, hosted as part of EMS Today 2019 in National Harbor, Maryland, and sponsored by Stryker.

A panel of professional EMS colleagues and peers selected the distinguished winners, who each displayed initiative, creative thinking, action-orientation and a desire to positively impact EMS, patients and their communities in the previous year.

The winners of the 2018 EMS10: Innovators in EMS awards are:

Morgan K. Anderson, MPH
Epidemiologist, ImageTrendLeading the CrewCare project, which is committed to making a positive impact to drive awareness and change on the mental health struggles of all first responders.

Tangye Beckham, EMT-P
EMS Coordinator and Director of Community Integrated Paramedicine, Rio Rico (Ariz.) Medical & Fire District
Implementing a mobile integrated healthcare/community paramedicine program that meets its community’s chronic care needs, specifically incorporating a practice around caring for patients suffering from dementia.

Patricia Casey, EMT-P
STARS Program Coordinator, SSM Health Cardinal Glennon Children’s Hospital
Developing the STARS (Special needs Tracking & Awareness Response System) program to build a database recording the history and health information of individual children with special healthcare needs in the St. Louis region.

Rommie L. Duckworth, BS, LP
Captain/EMS Coordinator, Ridgefield (CT) Fire Department
Advisory Board, Sepsis Alliance
Collaborating with the Sepsis Alliance to create a free online training module to improve awareness and understanding of sepsis among EMS providers worldwide.

Daniel Ellenberger, EMT-P
Director, EMS Institute, University Hospitals
Designing and implementing “Stop the Bleed” buckets, delivered to classrooms throughout Northeast Ohio, which contain hemorrhage control/first aid materials, door wedges, barricading materials, color indicators for safety personnel communication and toiletries for prolonged lockdowns.

Seth C. Hawkins, MD, FAEMS, FACEP, MFAWM
Medical Director, Burke County EMS (Morganton, N.C.)
Editing and publishing the first textbook on Wilderness EMS, which translates traditional EMS to austere, rural and limited-resource areas.

Richard Huff, NREMT
Ex-Chief, Atlantic Highlands (N.J.) First Aid Squad
PIO, New Jersey EMS Task Force
Embarking on an EMS Empathy Mission, which seeks to improve the way EMS providers interact with patients by focusing on talking with the patient vs at the patient.

Joshua Ishmael, MBA, MLS (ASCP)CM, NRP
EMS Community Outreach Coordinator, St. Elizabeth Healthcare
Influencing data-driven change and advocating technology and efficiency in workflow and communication in an effort to improve patient outcomes in the Greater Cincinnati region with five hospitals throughout Northern Kentucky.

Benjamin Krynski, BSc, BEmergHealth(Pmed)
Co-Founder & Director of Training, Real Response
Leading a research and development team to formulate and bring to life Real MCI, a revolutionary innovation to solve the problem of how to train for low-frequency, high-impact events in prehospital medicine.

EMS Agenda 2050 Technical Expert Panel
Award accepted by Mike Taigman, MA, Facilitator, EMS Agenda 2050 Technical Expert Panel
Listening to hundreds of ideas gathered from around the country and writing a new Agenda for the Future that lays out a vision for EMS system advancements for the next 30 years.

In-depth profiles of each of the EMS10 winners will be published in March.