Administration and Leadership, EMS Today

EMS10: Innovators in EMS Award Winners Announced at EMS Today 2018

The winners of this year’s EMS10: Innovators in EMS awards were announced Tuesday, Feb. 20, at an exclusive banquet, hosted as part of EMS Today 2018 in Charlotte, N.C.

A panel of professional EMS colleagues and peers selected the distinguished winners, who each displayed initiative, creative thinking, action-orientation and a desire to positively impact EMS, patients and their communities.

This year’s winners are:

Paul Banerjee, DO

Medical Director, Polk County (Fla.) Fire Rescue

Dr. Paul Banerjee is recognized for developing and teaching new life-saving resuscitation techniques for pediatric out-of-hospital cardiac arrest.

E. Stein Bronsky, MD

Medical Director, Colorado Springs (Colo.) Fire Department

Dr. E. Stein Bronsky is recognized for streamlining communication across several hospitals and more than 50 EMS agencies in Colorado, resulting in quicker patient transportation.

Captain Frank K. Butler, MD

Committee on Tactical Combat Casualty Care

United States Navy (Ret.)

Captain Frank Butler is recognized for helping lead the “Stop the Bleed” initiative, which seeks to make tourniquets more readily available and to teach civilians hemorrhage-control techniques.

Marc Eckstein MD, MPH

Medical Director, Los Angeles (Calif.) Fire Departmen

Dr. Marc Eckstein is recognized for overseeing several innovations as the Commander of a new Bureau of Emergency Medical Services at the LAFD, including naloxone training for LAPD officers, improved training resources for paramedics and a new fleet of multi-use fast response vehicles.

Julie Lahr, EMT-P, HHP

Paramedic, Williamson County (Texas) Mobile Outreach Team

Julie Lahr is recognized for creating M&M (Medical & Mental Health), a response model combining a Community Paramedic and a Mental Health Specialist to provide in-field medical clearance and mental health assessments.  M&M diverts patients from unnecessary EMS transports and ED visits while connecting patients to appropriate treatment and services. 

Kevin McGinnis, MPS

Board Member, FirstNet

Kevin McGinnis is recognized for spearheading the development of a broadband network devoted solely to public safety, the first of its kind in the U.S.

Peter McKie, BaHsc, EMT-P

CEO, iSimulate

Peter McKie is recognized for creating REALITi, a cutting-edge, completely iPad-based training program that includes a patient simulator and video debriefing.

Alan Mountford, ACP, MPA

Manager, Team Australia EMS

Alan Mountford is recognized for organizing international educational trips for Australian EMS students, giving them an edge in a high-competition industry.

Chad Pore, NREMT-P

EMS Director, Butler County (Kan.) EMS

Chad Pore is recognized for envisioning and executing a new ambulance design that prioritizes medic safety, without compromising patient health.

Kenneth Scheppke, MD

Medical Director, Palm Beach County (Fla.) Fire Rescue

Dr. Kenneth Scheppke is recognized for leading several life-saving innovations in Palm Beach, Florida including the successful implementation of heads-up CPR, a progressive stroke care triage system and an effective suboxone referral program.

For in-depth profiles of each of the EMS10 winners, be sure to read the April issue of JEMS.