Administration and Leadership, Industry News

NICE Opens Nominations for 2018 PSAPs’ Finest Awards

Hoboken, N.J.  – NICE today announced that it has opened nominations for the 2018 PSAPs’ Finest Awards, an annual recognition program for emergency communications professionals now in its thirteenth year. Awards are presented each year in the following categories: Director, Line Supervisor, Technician, Trainer, Telecommunicator, Innovator, and PSAP of the Year.

Since its inaugural year, the PSAPs’ Finest Awards program has recognized more than fifty deserving individuals employed in the field of emergency communications. Winners are selected by an independent judging panel from the 9-1-1 community, which evaluates the nominees based on their professionalism, accomplishments, and service to their communities.

“Emergency communications professionals are the heart and soul of public safety, and the first line of response when citizens need help,” said John Rennie, General Manager, Public Safety, NICE. “Through our sponsorship of the PSAPs’ Finest Awards NICE is honored to recognize these deserving individuals for the vital work they do to keep our communities safe, each and every day.”

2017 was a landmark year for the PSAPs’ Finest Awards with the addition of a new award category for Innovator of the Year, created to recognize a trailblazer in emergency communications. The judges chose Anita Pitt, the 9-1-1 Program Manager for the Brazos Valley Council of Governments(BVCOG) who was honored for her work implementing Text-to-911 in the Brazos Valley region.

In receiving her award, Pitt said: “It has been an honor to serve this beautiful region for thirty-two years. I’ve been doing 9-1-1 for twenty-nine years and I just love it. I love the 9-1-1 family, working with the Public Safety Answering Points, the men and women who answer the 9-1-1 calls. Each and every day I work for them. I appreciate this honor.”

Nominations for the PSAPs’ Finest awards program open annually in January and close in June. This year’s line-up of volunteer judges includes: Scott Rooney, Quality Assurance and Training Coordinator, Columbia County (FL) Combined Communications Center; Shinar Haynes, MBA, RPL, Director of Operations, Orleans Parish (LA) Communication District; Gary Bates, 911 Director, Howard County (IN) Consolidated Communication Center; Randy Beeman, Emergency Services Director/Fire Marshall, Cumberland County Emergency Services; Alphonso Dale, IT Project Manager for the Information Technology Division of the City Of Newport News, VA; Anthony Castillo, ENP, Manager, Emergency Communications, City of Norfolk, VA; Vinnie Puglia, Director, Radio Systems, Las Vegas (NV) Metropolitan Police Department; Daniel R. Koenig, ENP, 9-1-1 Planning Coordinator, Palm Beach (FL) County Public Safety Department 9-1-1 Technical Services; and Lesil Taylor, E911 Specialist, Bay County (FL).

To submit a nomination for the PSAPs’ Finest awards or read about previous winners, please visit the PSAPs’ Finest website at Nominations can be submitted on-line through June 1, 2018. Winners will be announced in August 2018.

Questions regarding the 2018 PSAPs’ Finest Awards can be directed to [email protected]