Administration and Leadership, EMS Insider

The 2017 AAA Awards & AMBY Awards

On Tuesday November 14, during the American Ambulance Association annual conference and trade show in Las Vegas, Nevada, several individuals and organizations were recognized for their contributions to the EMS industry. Congratulations to all of this year’s recipients!

To read more about this year’s recipients and the AAA’s awards programs, please visit

2017 AMBY Awards

The AMBYs recognize excellence in the ambulance profession and the ingenuity and entrepreneurial spirit that epitomize AAA members.

Best Community Impact Program (Tie)

NorthStar EMS, Inc. (Tuscaloosa, Ala.)

St. Charles County Ambulance District (St. Peters, Mo.)

Best Employee Program

MEDIC EMS Agency (North Carolina)

Quality Improvement Programs

MEDIC EMS Agency (North Carolina)

Public Relations Campaign (Tie)

Medic Ambulance Service, Inc. (California)

Sunstar Paramedics (Pinellas County, Fla.)

Other Programs

Porter EMS (Valparaiso, Ind.)


2017 AAA Award Recipients

Affiliate of the Year Award: REV

The Affiliate of the Year Award is given to the vendor who supports the programs of the association. REV has achieved this honor through their support of AAA’s programs and services including our 2017 Legislative Priorities.

EMS Partnership of the Year Award: National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)/James D. Green

The EMS Partnership of the Year Award is given to the EMS partner whose collaboration with the AAA enhances educational programs, legislative priorities and/or member benefits. 

Distinguished Service Award: Jamie Pafford-Gresham & Shawn Baird

The Distinguished Service Award is given to individuals who have demonstrated a high level of commitment to the advancement of the AAA. 

President’s Award: Dr. John Russell & Paul Main

The President’s Award is given by the President of the AAA to volunteer leaders who have shown commitment to the advancement of the AAA above and beyond the call of duty. 

Robert L. Forbuss Lifetime Achievement Award: Fred Della Valle

The Robert L. Forbuss Lifetime Achievement Award is named in honor of the first Executive Director of the American Ambulance Association. The award recognizes a volunteer leader who has made a lifetime body of work that has enhanced the programs and services of the AAA and its members. 

J. Walter Schaeffer Award: Mark Meijer

The J. Walter Schaefer Award is given annually to an individual whose work in EMS has contributed positively to the advancement of the industry as a whole. 

EMS Innovation Award: Savvik Foundation